What is VCA?

Whereas in the past, the employer mainly drew the attention of companies to the health and safety of their own workers, the Wellness Act of August 4, 1996 extended the scope of vision to work with third parties. In these situations, agreements must be concluded to ensure the health, safety and well-being of all concerned. The principal must ensure that the contractor (contractor) complies with the necessary preventive measures when carrying out the work. In addition, each client has the obligation to repel insecure entrepreneurs.

The law does not specify how to proceed. It is up to the client to find the appropriate way. One of the possibilities is to use contractors who have a label, declaration or certificate proving the application of a safety assessment system. Several safety assessment systems have been developed, enabling contractors to demonstrate that they comply with the necessary preventive measures in order to limit as far as possible the risks to their own workers and those of the principal. For example, the VCA system was introduced in the Netherlands at the instigation of petrochemical companies.

This system is primarily intended for entrepreneurs who carry out riskier activities. VCA (LSC - Contractors' Safety, Health and Environment Checklist) is a certification process whereby a certification body verifies, by means of an audit of the company and its workplaces, whether the applicant meets the assessment criteria for VCA certification.

This system comes from the Netherlands. Since 1 September 1999, a VCA structure has also been operational in Belgium, managed by the non-profit organisation BeSaCC-VCA and whose central body is the CEdE (Executive Committee of Experts). The abbreviation VCA comes from the original Dutch term VCA (”Veiligheid-, gezondheid- en milieu- Checklist Aannemers") and has been used in this document instead of the LSC translation (Contracting Companies SSE Checklist).

The term VCA has almost become a recognised brand throughout the world of principals and contracting companies.

Our level of VCA certification - Walhin paints in Liege

This level of certification covers the direct management of HSE aspects in the workplace, without the use of subcontractors.

Qu'est le VCA ?

Alors qu’autrefois, l’employeur attirait surtout l’attention des entreprises sur la sécurité et la santé de leurs propres travailleurs, la Loi sur le Bien-être du 4 août 1996 a étendu le champ de vision aux travaux avec des tiers. Dans ces situations, il faut en effet conclure des accords pour garantir la sécurité, la santé et le bien-être de toutes les personnes concernées. Le donneur d’ordre doit veiller à ce que l’exécutant (l’entrepreneur ou le contractant) respecte les mesures de prévention nécessaires lors de l’exécution des travaux. De plus, chaque donneur d’ordre a l’obligation de repousser les entrepreneurs peu sûrs.

La loi n’indique pas comment procéder. C’est au donneur d’ordre de trouver la manière appropriée. L’une des possibilités dont il dispose est de faire appel à des entrepreneurs qui possèdent un label, une attestation ou un certificat prouvant l’application d’un système d’évaluation de la sécurité. Plusieurs systèmes d’évaluation de la sécurité ont été développés, permettant aux entrepreneurs de prouver qu’ils respectent les mesures de prévention nécessaires afin de limiter autant que possible les risques pour leurs propres travailleurs et pour ceux du donneur d’ordre.

C’est ainsi que le système VCA a été mis en place aux Pays-Bas sous l’impulsion des entreprises pétrochimiques. Ce système s’adresse en premier lieu aux entrepreneurs qui exercent des activités plus risquées. VCA (LSC – Liste de contrôle Sécurité, santé et environnement entreprises Contractantes) est un processus de certification en vertu duquel un organisme de certification vérifie, par une radioscopie de l’entreprise et de ses lieux de travail, si le demandeur satisfait aux critères d’appréciation pour la certification du VCA.

Ce système provient des Pays-Bas. Depuis le 1er septembre 1999, une structure VCA est également opérationnelle en Belgique, gérée par l’asbl BeSaCC-VCA et dont l’organe central est le CEdE (Comité Exécutif des Experts). L’abréviation VCA vient du terme original hollandais VCA («Veiligheid-, gezondheid- en milieu- Checklist Aannemers») et a été utilisée dans ce document à la place de la traduction LSC (Liste de contrôle SSE entreprises Contractantes).

Le terme VCA est presque devenu une marque reconnue partout dans le monde des donneurs d’ordres et des entreprises contractantes.

Notre niveaux de certification VCA*

Ce niveau de certification porte sur la gestion directe des aspects SSE sur le lieu de travail, sans recours à des sous-traitants.