Who are we?

Our company has been in existence since 1874 and througohut these years have have always chosen to give priority to quality and to tradition.

We attach a lot of importance to the finish of our work and to te authentic nature of our methods. In a sector where technique must be at the service of know-how, our company has chosen high-quality craftsmanship. For us, every new project (office buildings, shops, private residences, restoration of property, etc.), triggers the same commitment and the same serious approach.

We guarantee excellent work and a fair price. That is our aim since 1874, it is no invention.




1874


1874 In 1874 the first family member (Jacques Walhin) started carrying out work of painting on buildings. His son, Théophile Walhin, assumed the helm and established himself in Ocquier. His clientèle consisted of the rich of the time, the owners of castles, doctors, clergymen. He moreover specialised in the decoration of carriages

1930


In 1930, his son Albert founded a large company with a view to working on the exhibition at Liège, for the city (the Sauvenière baths), for the army (de anti-tank hideouts), for the NMBS (the Guillemins station), etc. Before the war, Albert Walhin's company had some fifty employees.

1935


In 1935 he carried out works for the Brussels exhibition and afterwards for Cockerill.

1939


In 1939 he worked for the water exhibition of the university of Val Benoît,…

1962


In October 1962, Paul Walhin (the son of Norbert) left the family company of Ouffet and joined the company of his uncle in Liège.

1963


On 1 January 1963 there followed the establishment of the painting company Walhin S.A. At that time many large buildings were erected in Liège and during the 15 years to follow, Albert Walhin had painted and decorated hundreds of apartments.

1970


In 1970 Albert Walhin transferred his shares to his nephew, Paul Walhin, who thus became the principal shareholder of the S.A. and who headed the company until 2000. The company was excellently run and its reputation grew. The Walhin S.A. carried out prestigious works for various Ministries (e.g. the Moulin de Beez, CRM Liège), for the Royal Trust (Stuyvenberg-Laken, Royal Musea).

1984


At the end of 1984, Paul Walhin was joined at the helm of the company by his son Eric and together, for fifteen years, they developed the company’s activities and customer base.

1999 - Present


In 1999, Paul Walhin handed over the management of the company to his son Eric Walhin. He was quickly joined in 2001 by his wife Joëlle and together, they worked to move the company into the future with, among other things, VCA* certification, the application of new techniques and applications, and staff training. By adapting quickly to new technologies, S.A. Walhin continues its journey to the future.

Qui sommes-nous ?

Notre maison existe depuis 1874. Et tout au long de ces années, nous avons toujours choisi de donner la priorité à la qualité et à la tradition. Nous accordons une grande importance aux finitions de nos réalisations et au caractère authentique de nos méthodes.

 

Dans un secteur où la technique se doit d'être au service du savoir-faire, notre entreprise a choisi de fonctionner en artisan de qualité. Pour nous, chaque nouveau projet, quel qu'il soit (immeuble de bureaux, commerces, habitation privée, restauration de patrimoine…), suscite la même passion et requiert le même sérieux.

 

Nous vous offrons la garantie d’un travail bien fait et au juste prix.
Et cela depuis 1874. Cela ne s'invente pas




1874



Depuis 1874, le premier ascendant de la famille (Jacques Walhin) exerce la profession de peintre en bâtiment. Son fils Théophile Walhin, prend la relève et s'installe à Ocquier. Sa clientèle se compose des gens fortunés de l'époque: les châtelains, médecins, membres du clergé. Il se spécialise également dans la décoration des fiacres.

1930



En 1930, son fils Albert monte une entreprise de plus grande envergure travaillant pour l'exposition de Liège , pour la ville (les bains de la Sauvenières),pour l'armée ( les abris anti-chars), pour la SNCB (la gare des Guillemins), ... Avant la guerre, l'entreprise Albert Walhin compte une cinquantaine d'ouvriers.

1935



En 1935, il travaille pour l'exposition de Bruxelles, puis pour Cockerill

1939



En 1939, il travaillera pour l'exposition de l'eau ou l'université du Val Benoît ,...

1962



En octobre 1962, Paul Walhin (fils de Norbert) quitte l'entreprise familiale d'Ouffet pour venir seconder son oncle à Liège.

1963



Le premier janvier 1963 a lieu la création des entreprises de peinture Walhin S.A.grandes constructions de Buildings à Liège et, en 15 ans, l'entreprise peint et décore un millier d'appartements

1970


En 1970, Albert Walhin cède ses parts à Paul Walhin,son neveu, devenant ainsi l'actionnaire principal de la société Anonyme.Celui-ci dirige l'entreprise jusqu'en 2000. Elle est gérée de main de maître et sa réputation ne fait que s'étendre, c'est ainsi qu'elle réalise des travaux prestigieux pour différents ministères (exemple : moulin de Beej, CRM Liège) pour la donation Royale (Stuyvenberg-Laeken, musées Royaux).

1984


Fin 1984, Paul Walhin est rejoint à la direction de l’entreprise par son fils Eric et ensemble, durant quinze années, ils développent les activités et la clientèle de la société. 

De 1999 à aujourd'hui



En 1999, Paul Walhin cède la direction de l’entreprise à son fils Eric Walhin. Il est rapidement rejoint en 2001 par son épouse Joëlle et ensemble, ils s'attachent à faire évoluer la société vers l'avenir avec entre-autres la certification VCA*, l'application de nouvelles techniques et applications, la formation du personnel.

En s'adaptant rapidement aux nouvelles technologies, la S.A. Walhin poursuit sa route vers le futur.